With a rich estate history dating back to 1740 and its original owner, J. Sampson, the chain of title is speckled with names whom locals to Annapolis will recognize in frequented street names such as Pinkney, Shaw, Halsey and Franklin itself. Gifted to Arabella Grant Walker in 1906 by her husband, U.S. Navy Admiral Asa Walker, what has become known over decades of the past century as the Franklin House, was built two years later in 1908.
Admiral Asa Walker was born in New Hampshire in 1846 and after years served in the United States Navy, had chosen to retire in Annapolis. Arabella Grant, who married Walker in 1891, was born in Kentucky in 1858. Upon purchasing the property on Franklin Street, the Walkers had constructed what still stands today; a high-style, three story Colonial Revival.
With views of Spa Creek, it still boasts its original heart pine hardwood floors throughout The Main Level, curved staircase, cedar window-benches, high ceilings, dual fireplaces and more, imagery of a place and time long ago comes to mind with ease.
Both pride of ownership and a common purpose to maintain the integrity, stature and antiquity of Franklin House over the years has prevailed in a seemingly unwritten sense of responsibility by its owners as it has undergone several renovations and updates over time. A responsibility to share its story, to invite in dialogue and conversation, to create lasting memories and grow in community and friendship.
We all have a story. Contact us to find out more on how we can help share yours and let us add you to the pages of the book; the history that continues to be written at 59 Franklin Street.